Hey all,

I was thinking recently about adulthood. I found myself wondering about this last night, as I was flicking through bank websites looking at mortgages, while also attempting to study for my final university exams. While doing this, it suddenly hit me… I am an adult. I may not act like one, or feel like one… but I am. When did this happen? It seemed incredibly far away, infinitely in fact, just a few short years ago. How did it suddenly come out of nowhere?

Of course, this is a ridiculous attitude to have. It didn’t come out of nowhere, you just eventually grow into it; it’s just worrying how scared of it I was. Possibly because I’m not somewhere I wanted to be when I was an adult. I’m still living at home, in a town I’ve lived in since I was 9, and I’m not entirely sure I want to change that just yet.

Where do people get the desire to truly be adults from? Everyone around me seems to be totally fine with the changes that generally come with growing up. They all seem to be moving out, getting real relationships, dealing with rent and bills and extra responsibilities that just seem like too much effort. Where does all that come from?

I don’t know when it’s going to happen, or where it’s going to come from, but I hope I learn to be an adult one day. Although the idea of still watching Spongebob, sleeping with my hotwheels doona, and eating junk food for dinner on a regular basis, sounds pretty decent to me :P.

Anyway, there’s my thoughts on adulthood… any thoughts on the matter… there’s a comment section below… go for your life.

Night all,
your blogging friend, Mitchell.

